Skip to content


The basis of the coinage of Tibet. It is a silver piece containing a considerable amount of alloy, the value of which is nominally six Annas, though, as a rule, three of them are exchanged for an Indian Rupee, i.e., sixteen Annas.

The subdivisions of the Tang-Ka are made by cutting up the coin itself. These divisions are:

Sho-Kang, a / 3 of a Tang-Ka equal to 4 Annas. Chht-Ke, % " " " 3 Kar-ma-nga, % " " " 2 " Kha-Kang, Vo " " " 1 Anna. Khap-chhe, Vis " " " Vjs "

The principal varieties of the Tang-Ka are the following :

Ga-den Pho-dang Tang-Ka, which was struck at the Ga-den palace at Lhasa, about 1750.

Kong-par Tang-Ka, minted at Giamda on the borders of the Province of Kongbo, and dated in Tibetan figures.

Pa-nying Tang-Ka, meaning "old Nepalese" coinage, commonly called Ang-tuk (q.v.), and termed Mohar by the people of Nepal.

Nag-tang, or black Tang-Ka, a name given to the Nepalese coinage of Ranjil Malla Deva, bearing the Newar dale 842, or 1722.

Cho-tang, or "cutting Tang-Ka." A Nepalese coin since the Gorkha conquest, not struck for currency in Tibet, but generally current. Conf. Walsh, Coinage of Tibet , in Memoirs Asmtic Society of Bengal , 1907 (ii.), and Wood, in American Journal of Numismatics , 1912. For ex- tensive historical references concerning the name, see R. C. Temple in The Indian Antiquary (xxvi. 235-244).

See Also: Tang-Ka
Source: Frey's Dictionary (American Journal of Numismatics, Vol. 50, 1916)
NNP is 100% non-profit and independent // Your feedback is essential and welcome. // Your feedback is essential and welcome.